GPS POI Home POI FilesPOI ToolsPOI MapsGPS ForumSupport
GPS Data Team
ContactFAQSite map

Home > Forums > Installation Support > Duplicates in Speed and Red light camera files

Post new GPS POI data or GPS devices related topic in Installation Support forum   Reply to topic Duplicates in Speed and Red light camera files Goto page

ebu44

GPS: Garmin Drive 60

Post Duplicates in Speed and Red light camera files     

Hi All,

I am pretty new to all this so be gentle please.

I have a new Garmin Drive 60 and have been puzzling out the various capabilities over the last few days. I have experimented with various options for getting reliable coverage for speed cameras, red light cameras, and combined speed and red light cameras ... but keep running into problems with duplicates.

Example - I used the global Australia wide complete set of all cameras (CAMERA-AU) and within that file I get up to 4 duplicate entries per intersection that I have checked (maybe more at some intersections). When you drive near the Melbourne CBD - it is pretty much constantly saying "Speed Camera Alert" as there are cameras everywhere and I am getting 4 alerts for each one.

Eg (Not from the CBD - but illustrates the point).
145.06224 -37.80077 Camera alert @ 60 This is where the actual camera is mounted
145.062536 -37.800818 Camera alert This is the centre of the intersection
145.0626103 -37.8007703 Camera alert @ 60 This is just past the intersection
145.0626592 -37.8007673 Safety Alert AU - 1236 This is just past the intersection

There is only 1 camera at this intersection pointing in 1 direction - but I get 4 alerts which are spread slightly apart.

I saw a suggestion that instead of using the complete set I should try just loading up the 3 individual sub files - Redlight_Camera, Speed_Camera and Speed_Red_Camera. I did this and it improved things - but I still get at least two duplicates (the first from the Speed_Camera file and the second from the Speed_Red_Camera file):